Skip to content

“I HATE Rogers!” -every Rogers customer ever.

February 17, 2013

We, as Canadians, must take responsibility for the way companies like Rogers treat us. We let it happen.

Spending countless hours fighting mysterious charges on our wireless bill every month, being forced to pay a cancellation fee of up to $400 because we don’t want to deal with the frustration anymore, getting tricked into an extended contract by way of “a free phone for your loyalty- no strings attached” are examples of just a few of the atrocities I’ve personally experienced over the years.

But I don’t need to get into specifics or state examples- all it takes is a few minutes on this site to get your blood boiling and to realize just how widespread and common these complaints are. According to Canada’s Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services 2011-2012 report, wireless services topped the complaints list. Of the big  three in Canada, here are the stats for complaints YoY:

Rogers +112%

Bell +17%

Telus -13%

Having recently cancelled my service with Rogers (for free) I think I have a pretty good idea of where I’m taking my business. Telus, may you serve as an example of how business should be done and the importance of continually improving your  policies and services to better serve customers.

But wait, you say. I’m still with Rogers and I want out, you say. You’ve come to the right place. Keep reading 🙂

SKIP TO HERE IF YOU COULD CARELESS ABOUT MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCES OR CANADIAN TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMPLAINTS STATS AND JUST WANT TO KNOW HOW TO DEAL WITH ROGERS. 

1. Call customer service. Take notes and keep for your records. If you are not completely satisfied with the outcome, ask to escalate to a manager.

2. The manager should call you back within 72 hours. If you are not completely satisfied with the outcome, ask for the full name of the manager and/or interaction ID so that you can escalate to The Office of the President. (ProTip: just mentioning The Office of the President usually gets them to reconsider their previous statements. But be fair, stand your ground and give the manager a chance to give you what you want.)

3. The Office of the President requires the manager name and/or interaction ID. This is part of the new process that they’ve put in place to deal with increasing customer complaints. I didn’t know about it until yesterday. Knowledge is power.

4. The Office of the Ombudsman serves as an impartial body to investigate customer concerns and deliver fair and reasonable resolutions but requires you to have gone through steps 1 to 3 first.

5. But wait, that’s not all. If you’re not satisfied with the Ombudsman’s resolution, you can contact the Commissioner for Complaints for telecommunications services (CCTS). And get this, their service is completely free for you. It’s awesome to be Canadian, eh?!

Click here and go to page 6 and 7 for more detail (i.e. websites/contact information) for the above steps.

Rogers provides mediocre customer service and locks in  customers with contracts and cancellation fees. If you take these steps and have a reasonable reason for why you want to leave (mysterious charges and having to audit your bill and waste time with customer service every month is a reasonable enough reason) they will have to waive the cancellation fee. If enough customers leave, Rogers will be forced to reconsider their policies, processes and services.

We’ve dealt with far too much abuse for far too long. All from one company. The common sentiment is “Rogers owns all the towers. They have all the power. The customer has none.” Wrong.

people-know-their-power

If we work together, we have all the power. Let’s focus on educating ourselves and exercising our  rights so that companies are forced to focus on the very reason they are in business: the customer.

Not a Rogers customer? Lucky you. Spread the love by sharing this post with someone who is being unfairly treated by Rogers.

If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment below and I will do my best to find the answer for you.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Fellow Redittor permalink
    February 18, 2013 6:45 pm

    I hate Rogers with a passion.. I am glad I switched to Wind as soon as my contract is over. You should switch to Wind… no more contracts and they are pretty cheap compared to big 3.

  2. Sommer permalink
    May 29, 2013 2:54 pm

    HI,
    I found your post when trying to find ways of escalating issues regarding Rogers without having to call our lawyer first and thank you… I found your suggestions very helpful!

    We had Rogers do an install in our house for cable and phone services on May 14, 2013 in which three technicians attended our home from 10am till 3:45pm. Two of the technicians attended just to replace the internet modem. The install technician drilled into the exterior of our house and he drilled through a power line and we have lost power to one side of our three story home. The room that they put the cable in is also our nursery and we are expecting a baby in a room where the power lines lose circuit once something is turned on in that room.
    Our internet has not worked consistently in months and Rogers reasoning is that the account needs to be reset from their end every month or so??? Our phone line was installed and everything was placed in the room on the top floor where we rent out. I had specifically asked for it not to be installed there and the technician advised that this was the easiest for him to do and installed it anyways. Also we have a Bell satellite dish installed and working outside our home for a tenant which the installer disconnected and cut the cable, without asking. That is a synopsis of the issues we’ve been elevating to Rogers since May 14, 2013 install.

    We have spoken to escalation manager after escalation manager (Including Andy the escalation manager of Ontario) who has no answers and the on site technician manager who was supposed to attend our home by May 18, 2013 has neither called us back or shown up at our home. We have since had 3 rogers technicians attend our street to address the cable issues on the lines but the 8 people that we have spoken to every 3 days since May 14, 2013 can and wont give us a clear answer.

    I have always been a faithful customer of Rogers and have had them for over 15 years. I guess to date I have been lucky as I have never had any issues but I also paid for cable for years that I never used due to traveling all the time for work.
    I’m so disappointed and disgusted now that a company such as Rogers can damage things in our home and not have a care for the quality of service or responsibility of their install. I’m placing a call with the Canadian Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services and the Ombudsmen office today. If there is anything else that you think I should do as well please let me know as we have waited 3 weeks for resolution to be told today that they would elevate the concern again (5th time) and hopefully a manager would call us back but the Rogers manager Amesh advised he cant guarantee anything. I’m 8 months pregnant and concerned about the lack of power and Rogers taking responsibility for their error. Any suggestions that you have please let me know as I too was advised the calls would be returned in 72 hours to be told then that all the escalation managers were wrong and they have 5 business days.
    thank you for your time and hopefully this makes any other potential angry customer think twice about signing up with Rogers services

  3. Todd Trahan permalink
    July 3, 2013 6:05 pm

    I hear you. Did everything as I was suppose to for porting my number to avoid cancellation fees and they still charged me. After 23 years of being faithful with them and this is what I get. Very glad I switched.

  4. Laurie Busby permalink
    July 27, 2013 10:16 pm

    Im so pissed with rogers. I cant believe they took it upon themself to cancell my flex plan that is up in september. I cancelled my service with them in december and went with wind.Not only have i been paying them faithfully 100 dollars every month since january my bill still hasnt drop down. And now they are telling me that i own them 339 dollar for them cancelling my flex plan. Plus the remaining that i owed them. So basically they are saying now i owe them 1218. So i ask the woman where the 700 dollars i already paid them. I ask her to put me through to someone who is higher up and she told me she couldnt do that and that i have to pay. So i said to her well guess wat you wont be getting any more money from me send it to collection i dont care and you guys are a bunch of thefts.

  5. mike permalink
    July 30, 2013 3:23 pm

    I agree they need to be out of servive they are not doing what they say so they are scaming people

  6. Jackmacknaughton permalink
    September 1, 2013 2:41 pm

    I have been a rogers customer for over 30 years I have paid my bill 2 weeks in advance 95% of that time being late on perhaps 3 times . I was away from home for 2 weeks this summer and was late THEY called after 11 days in the middle of the night wanting money WHAT kind of a Co. is this. The service is not good || I have 2 sets one i gave up on as they cannot provide service after many trips and boxes . The faster that new company gets here the better I WILL BE GHANGING.

  7. Karen permalink
    September 11, 2013 1:02 am

    Don’t even get me started, it’s the same old story, intermittent internet for 6 years, they blamed it on me…til a tech noticed the bad service outside…2 months ago. 10 calls and 5 service calls later…still can’t get anyone’s last name. They want $250 to cancel. I really hate them.

  8. Vik permalink
    September 18, 2013 4:25 am

    I recently phoned Rogers and asked if I was eligible for a new phone without extending my contract, as I hadn’t upgraded in years and my phone was not working. The Rep gave me options for a few phones, I chose one of the free ones. Then I received their contract package and realized they did extend my contract, I phoned Rogers, went through a few departments and explained they had made an error as I spefically asked to not extend my contract. No rep took any of my concerns seriously, the rep told me that by accepting the phone I accepted the contract and it is now valid, I even suggested she listen to the taped conversations I had with the rep and she just replied their’s no need for her because the contract is “valid,” it made absolutely no sense to me, I absolutely hate Rogers, they are dishonest, they deceive clients.

    • Evelyn Adante permalink
      September 23, 2013 4:35 pm

      that is the same reason they gave me. My contract had expired and I had told them I wanted to upgrade my phone but do not want a contract. I found out that I was under a contract because I asked to upgrade my phone. I now have an inactive account because they conned me into just paying $12 a month to keep my phone number. After paying the monthly fee of $12 plus tax and decided not to keep my phone number after paying close to a year, I advised them that I was closing the account since I have not used it for close to a year, they told me that they have to wait 30 days from the day I informed them. I asked them why since it is an account that I have not used. ( I can see it if it is an active account, and if there are additional charges, like long distance calls, etc), but this has not been used for more than a year, so why then should I be charged another month of non-use, they told me that that is their policy. But before that, they asked me if I had a sister or family member that wants to open an account with them, when I said no, that’s when they “stick it to me”, to pay another month of fees for non-use, after they had collected more than one year of non-use of the account.

  9. Rob S permalink
    October 16, 2013 6:37 pm

    There should be some sort of petition or something against this company. I explain enough, how bad they are. Here’s my rant in jot notes.

    -I cancelled my service early and paid the fee.
    -I asked the customer service agent if I was free and good. No more to pay no items to return. They said I was fine, no bill came in the mail.
    -Months and Months later I get a call from a collection agency saying I owed money, I thought it was becuase they wanted my credit card number over the phone. So I hung up. They called back again.
    -I got a letter from the collectors with more detail, it was for my rogers account. I owed, again, the money I had paid plus extra for I don’t know what.
    -I paid the collections, and still have this on my credit report.
    -There’s nothing I can do. I’m an expat in another country and don’t have the time to fight it.

    They’ve got a ton of power and they abuse it.

  10. Kevin Daley permalink
    October 17, 2013 3:05 am

    Been there done that . News Flash CCTS commissioner for complaints will help kind of. Rogers will agree to reduce your bill and then surprise on your next bill they will increase it , mine was increased by 60%.!! A second complaint was side lined by the CCTS and bam, I was back to the beginning being charged more than my contracted rate.

  11. Kathy permalink
    November 16, 2013 7:13 pm

    Our 3-year corporate wireless contract for 3 lines ends on Dec. 10, 2013. Apparently, we still need to provide Rogers with a 30 day notice of cancellation. If we cancel, we can’t port our numbers to our new carrier. If we port our numbers to the new carrier, the 30 day notice begins on the day we make the switch. So, for one month, we are paying both carriers. The only upside to this is that the new carrier has provided a nice incentive for switching, and I, hopefully, will never have to deal with rip-off Rogers again.

  12. Michelle permalink
    April 30, 2014 7:00 pm

    II klove this feed and especially the initial blog which has given me direction of where to take my complaint. My issue seems smaller than some of the above but I still feel sooo ripped off by this company. I had a Rogers pay-as-you-go-plan, which was for the iphone I owned and did not include data. Last summer I decided to finally get a data plan and upgrade to a new iphone. The Rogers store was really helpful, even offered me a $350 account credit which I was supposed to have received on my bill within 3 months for opening a “new account”. I had to change phone numbers to do this but for $350 was incentive enough for me for my new 3-year contract (and to be honest was the reason I went with Rogers over Telus who had a very similar plan on offer). I changed phone numbers which was a bit of a pain. After 3 months…no credit on my bill, I went back to the store….the same sales guy says “oops” we forgot to apply for the credit when we activated your account…it’s going to take another 3 months…. by this time it was Christmas and life was busy and I did not get back to the store for close to 4-5 months…still no credit!! The guy at the store no longer works there. I am out of pocket $350 and Rogers has apparently no record of any credit. I am so angry for being a pawn in a game of bait and switch!

  13. Pete permalink
    May 1, 2014 5:16 pm

    Oh, how I feel of your guys pain. I hate Rogers sooo much!!! I wish someone could do something. I filed a complaint with CCTS about Rogers and months went by and then they sent something saying that they needed more info, which I sent them again and they seemed to have lost it, so CCTS was useless to me.

  14. May 2, 2014 6:08 pm

    I haven’t had a chance to read all of the comments on this site because I just spent 2 hours on the phone (again) with, you guessed it, Rogers. As of today, they have lost our business. This should have happened long ago.
    I started out feeling quite fine this morning and after Rogers, I was a complete mess…this chic named Corin was as thick headed as they come, even though she started out telling me repeatedly that I was “in good hands” and not to worry. Eventually, I had to hang up on her to save myself.
    Their hugely incorrect billing charges combined with receiving completely different information on each call is criminal and I know that there are many people out there simply paying the hundreds of dollars to Rogers that they do not owe. Who has the time or even the ability to study each bill in order to work out that what they actually owe can be as much as 90% lower than the figure stated on the bill…
    I’m only hoping that enough people over time, will take arms against this dispicable mess of a company and that eventually, there will no longer be a Rogers.

  15. Andrew permalink
    May 8, 2014 6:58 am

    Rogers is a scam. Hard to believe (for a big company) but it is true… They will try to steal money from you every way they can. Even a pickpocket doesn’t steal from you every month so they are much worse criminal than the pickpocket.
    I am telling you this from my own experience, stay away from Rogers.

Leave a Reply

