Skip to content

If you could ask just one question…

August 26, 2012
tags:

If you could ask just one question (and know for sure you’d receive the right answer), what would you ask?

What is the meaning of life? Is there a meaning to life? What happens after we die? 

I don’t think about this kind of stuff often. Ok so that was a lie. I think about this stuff all the time. More than I’d like to admit. Especially to my mom. Because she gets all emotional and worried and tells me to stop.

Last night, my uncle passed away. I’d only met him a handful of times. I remember the first time I visited Jaffna (the northern tip of Sri Lanka where he lived) and saw the huge fields with no wires overhead. Naturally, I wanted to buy a kite. He told his sons to make one for me instead. So there we are trying to make a kite out of bamboo and special kite paper (which I promptly ripped and destroyed because apparently flying a kite takes skill. who knew.) Anyway, there’s really no point to this story other than the fact that I had no idea I’d never see him again.

Life is like that. You never know what’s around the corner- which is why I think it’s important to think about questions you can’t answer- even the hard ones.

I’ll end this all-over-the-place post with one of my favourite quotes regarding questions and answers and life.

“Have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.” —  R.M. Rilke

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2012 8:28 pm

    Great questions to think about. Sorry to hear about the death of your uncle. Often a death brings up these types of questions. I’ve lost some loved ones and have my own answers to these questions that bring me peace.

  2. August 26, 2012 9:44 pm

    Sorry to hear about your uncle. Your “over the place post” seems to talk about hope and faith. Faith that allows you to “live the questions now” and hope that one day you will “live yourself into the answer.”

  3. January 18, 2013 10:30 am

    Thank you for the quote at the end of the post. It is very good. Made my day! It voiced exactly what was in my head for the past months. Do you know the name of the book it is from? Just wondering, as I love Rilke, but never read that one.

Leave a Reply

